Effort: Leaping into a Spontaneous Schedule

leaves

I returned home from a playful, leaf-tromping, freezing-rain-touched Thanksgiving Holiday eager to begin writing my second short story in an intended series of 14.

I’ve long wished my writing schedule would be as steady and rhythmic as the seasonal progression.  I believe Life responds to regular effort, cheers on creative risks, and supports steady devotion to the Heart’s expressive passions.   But I’ve never been able to stick to a strict writing schedule whether morning or evening.  Minutes or hours. Weekday or weekend.

I’ve given up tracking down the root of this regularity struggle.  Instead I’m switching to what I call a Spontaneous Schedule.  I’ve successfully applied this approach in upping my karate practice, so why not try it with writing?

The schedule:   An hour per day.  The spontaneity:   when inspiration and possibility coincide.   The former solidifies my commitment, builds momentum and zaps inertia.  The  latter accommodates employment demands, respects other commitments and moves with my varying need for rest, all while stoking creative alertness and a playful spirit.

I’ve written a continuous 60 minutes one day.  And  then a 20/40 split the next.  30/30.  Back to 60.  Whatever the scheduled spontaneity convergence produces. Additional boosts leap in here and there:  mulling over character motivations while squeezing toothpaste onto the brush; scratching down ideas on a sticky note during a lunch break.

Word by word.  Paragraph by paragraph.  The story is emerging.  And I’m enjoying the effort.

How do you approach your creative projects?    Balance schedule and spontaneity?   Experience the qualitative process and creativity you desire?

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Effort: Leaping into a Spontaneous Schedule

  1. Mary Tang

    I have to keep myself, my garden and orchard alive; after that, I do as I please. Not the most productive plan but I can’t seem to knuckle down to any form of discipline. Blogging regularly is as close as I get to routine but I can’t even do that everyday. Good to hear that you are getting results.

    Reply
    1. Jan Schaper Post author

      Hi Mary, I love how your prioritize the plants in your care. You impress me with the frequency and quality of your blog posts . . . and from what you write about it seems as if you accomplish and create quite a lot, so your “do as I please” system must have some merit!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

