Effort: Sinking into Stone

Stone Stairs

Blogging’s greatest gift for me has not been the writing but the reading of others’ stories.   I’ve encountered accounts of self-initiated healing. Posted triumphs.  Shared adventures and simple pleasures.  Creative works.  Acknowledged struggles. Inspirations.  And an overall willingness to live with transfiguring gusto physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually.

I figure each read post represents countless undocumented efforts to live Well. Generously. With Courage.  For the Good.   This heartens me, especially given the many planetary challenges unfolding, so often beyond our individual influence.

On this month’s warmer winter evenings I’ve been venturing outside at dusk or in night’s fullness.  Wool hat.  Enveloping scarf.   Sweater. Jacket.   And I’ve been resting back on the steps connecting my porch with the leaf-strewn drive.  The limestone’s curves and protrusions somehow perfectly placed to comfortably accommodating my hips, back, shoulders, neck, head.

 

Winter Trees

It’s peaceful to sink into these stones.  To feel their solidness.  To relax my gaze into the trees and the emerging stars.   To remember and thank all those who continue to strive and share their stories amidst the chaos of our times.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Effort: Sinking into Stone

Leave a comment