Earth: In company of a Crescent Moon

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 8.46.48 PM

A Screen Shot From Stellarium

She rested in the gathering darkness to the west.  Offering a graceful sliver of light.  A beautiful crescent moon slowing setting.  I relished her presence, as I travelled home from town, grateful for Hwy 62’s ridge line views.   I wish my cell camera had the capacity to produce a clear nighttime photo to share.  But, hopefully, you were able to experience her company in realtime with your own eyes and wonder.

It’s been a week of enjoying celestial companions.  Have you seen the pre-dawn planetary gathering, arching from horizon to horizon?   Mercury.  Venus.  Saturn.  Mars.  Jupiter.  Prominently joined by the stars Spica and Antares. By some kindness of fate, this entire spectrum has been visible through the still-leafless trees from the quiet solitude of my back deck.  Despite the cold, definitely worth rising early.

We humans tell stories of the moon, planets and the stars, infusing them with character, qualities, myth and influence.

And what do we tell ourselves and each other about our planet, Earth?   And of our relationship with Her?  Dominion? Playground?  Resource?  Mother?  Home?

One story I tell myself is of our interconnection.  Her health is ours.  And ours is Hers.  A relationship to be honored.  Defended.  Celebrated.  With daily choices.  Prayers.  Reverence.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Earth: In company of a Crescent Moon

  1. Mary Tang

    I’m a city girl so don’t get much of a chance to experience the sight of celestial bodies. Besides I always go to bed early. However, I am always grateful whenever I go bush and see the dark sky entirely covered by stars.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

